Michigan State University masthead

Advisory Councils

Academic Advisory Council



Denice Blair MSU Museum Education Team, Co-Manager‚Ä®
Assistant Professor, Department of Teacher Education
Glenn Chambers Director, African and African American Studies, and Associate Professor, Department of History
Margaret Crocco Chair, Department of Teacher Education
Center for Gender in Global Context
Kurt Dewhurst Director, Arts & Cultural Initiatives, UOE
Professor, Department of English
MSU Museum Director Emeritus
Phil Duxbury Chair, Department of Physics & Astronomy
Professor, Condensed Matter Theory
Biomedical Physical Science Building
Thomas Getty Chair, Department of Integrative Biology
Eric Goodman  Director of BEACON
Jeff Grabill Associate Provost: Teaching, Learning & Technology
Walter Hawthorne Chair, Department of History
Pilar S. Horner Associate Professor, School of Social Work
Ruben Martinez Director, Julian Samora Research Institute, and
Department of Sociology
Beronda Montgomery MSU Foundation Professor Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
John Norder Director, Native American Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology
Jodie O’Gorman Chair, Anthropology
Dean Rehberger Director, MATRIX; Interim Chair, Department of Sociology
Allyn Shaw Assistant Vice President, Student Affairs & Services
Shannon Schmoll Director, Abrams Planetarium
Mark Waddell Assistant Professor: History, Philosophy, and Sociology of Science
Lyman Briggs College & Department of History

University Outreach & Engagement (ex officio)

Hiram E. Fitzgerald Associate Provost for University Outreach and Engagement
University Distinguished Professor, Psychology
Laurie Van Egeren Assistant Provost, University-Community Partnerships
Burt Bargerstock Director, UOE National Collaborative for the Study of University Engagement
Director, UOE Communication and Information Technology

Community Advisory Council



Bill Trevarthen (Chairperson)   
Bruce Ashley Public Affairs Associates 
One Michigan Avenue Building
Yvonne Caamal Canul Superintendent
Lansing School District
Dominic Carbone Owner, Business for Kids
Owner, DMC Services, Inc.
Owner, Hungry Howies Pizza (Lansing)
Deidre J. Davis Vice President of Marketing & Communications
Michigan State University Federal Credit Union 
Patrick Dean Dean Transportation
Silvia Dimma Michigan State University Federal Credit Union
Paul Elam Jr., Ph.D. President, Public Policy Associates, Inc.
Gregory Farhat Director of Workplace Strategy and Delivery
Jackson National Life, The ZONE
Owner: Knight Cap Restaurant,
Owner: Absolute Labor, 
Owner: Masada Enterprizes
Ann Covert Fuller Owner, Country Stitches, Ltd.
Heather Good Executive Director
Michigan Audubon 
Edythe Hatter-Williams Director
Capital Area Michigan Works
Pamela Heos Director of Alumni and Donor Relations
Western Michigan University-Thomas M. Cooley Law School
Charles Hillary Senior Vice President
Hillary Lyons Associates
Nadean Hillary  
Joan Jackson Johnson Director, Human Relations and Community Services
Scott Koenigsknecht Superintendent
Ingham Intermediate School District
George Lahanas East Lansing City Manager
Michelle Massey Vice President, Business & Operations
J. Keith Ostien, Ph.D. Founder and Director
Comprehensive Psychological Services
Kate Snyder Principal Strategist
PIPER & GOLD Public Relations
Anshu Varma CPA, State of Michigan; Owner, Henna by Design